It should go without saying that when you are the constant companion of someone like His Holiness, you don’t write a blog every time he meets a celebrity. He meets so many that my claws would be worn to the quick by now.

But there are some people who stand out in my mind. Discretion being my middle name, I can’t possibly comment on whether the Hollywood actress mentioned on page 166 of my book is, or is not, Portia de Rossi.   That is a subject that will have to remain veiled in mystery.  At least for the moment.

But I can tell you this: I am a BIG fan of Portia’s. Not because of her amazing acting career or stunning good looks, but because she is a patron of Alley Cat Allies (www.alleycat.org)

Readers of The Dalai Lama’s Cat will know that my earliest days weren’t easy. If it wasn’t for the Dalai Lama’s ‘coincidental’ drive by, I would almost certainly be dead. Alley Cat Allies is a great organisation, dedicated to helping cats in difficult circumstances like mine. And Portia lends her high public profile to help them. How many celebrities do you know who do that?

Portia’s great compassion reminds me of a verse from Shakespeare which Tenzin, His Holiness’s Executive Assistant, sometimes quotes:

The quality of mercy is not strain’d,
It droppeth as the gentle rain from heaven
Upon the place beneath. It is twice blest:
It blesseth him that gives and him that takes.

Who said these famous words, dear reader? As it happens, they come from a play called The Merchant of Venice and are spoken by none other than Portia …

Write to tell me about your favourite cat charities!

Ö
( )~ Prrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/The-Dalai-Lamas-David-Michie/dp/1401940587
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DalaiLamasCat
Twitter: https://twitter.com/DalaiLamasCat